Concert Season 2018-2019

To find more about each concert and book tickets, follow each of the links below

Autumn Concert


Strode Theatre

Soloist: Sara Trickey
Conductor:  Hitoshi Suzuki
Leader: Hywel Jenkins

Saturday 1st December 2018 7:30PM
Strode Theatre, Street

RossiniOverture The Italian Girl in Algiers

Violin Concerto
(soloist Hannah Mitchell)

BeethovenSymphony No 7

Click here for more concert information

Christmas Carols

Sing for Somerset Carol Service
in association with Somerset Life

Wells Cathedral

Conductor: Laurence Blyth
Leader: Hywel Jenkins

Saturday 15th December 2018 7:00PM
Wells Cathedral

Lessons and carols, led by Somerset Voices
(members and friends of Taunton and Wellington Choral Societies)

Click here for more concert information

Winter Concert

Idyll’s of winter

Strode Theatre

Soloist: Joe Pritchard
Conductor: Hitoshi Suzuki
Leader: Hywel Jenkins

Saturday 26th January 2019 7:30PM
Strode Theatre, Street

Warlock Capriol Suite
Haydn Cello Concerto in C
Wagner Siegfried Idyll
Schubert Symphony No 5

Click here for more concert information

Spring Concert

Strode Theatre

Soloist: Sam Haywood:
Conductor: Hitoshi Suzuki:
Leader: Hywel Jenkins

Saturday 11th May 2019 7:30PM
Strode Theatre, Street

Brahms Piano Concerto No 2
Sibelius Symphony No 2

Book Tickets (opens in a new window)

Summer Concert

Strode Theatre

Conductor: Hitoshi Suzuki
Leader: Hywel Jenkins

Saturday 6th July 2019 7:30PM
Strode Theatre, Street

Programme to include:

SuppeOverture Light Cavalry
GounodPetite Symphonie
BizetCarmen Suite No 1
HolstSt Paul’s Suite
GriegPeer Gynt Suite No 1
Rodgers arr BennettOklahoma! Selection for Orchestra
Parry arr ElgarJerusalem

A suite arranged for orchestra showcases the best of an original, hopefully leaving the audience wishing for more!

No time for this here, however, as the MSO’s summer treat for 2019 is a whirlwind “pick’n’mix” with Suppé’s popular Light Cavalry Overture there at the top as you open the packet of goodies! There follows the Spanish bravado, gypsy lilts, tragic drama and, above all, immortal melodies of Bizet’s opera Carmen all captured in 6 short movements, in its turn followed by Grieg’s equally immortal incidental music for Ibsen’s Peer Gynt, whose eponymous hero (and the composer’s fictional compatriot) travels around the world ending up in The Hall of the Mountain King in their mutual native Norway. This then leads to all the best numbers from Rodgers and Hammerstein’s Musical Oklahoma!, including Beautiful MorningFarmer and the Cowboy and of course Oklahoma! theme, all skilfully woven together by Robert Russell Bennett, to close proceedings. Well, not quite. The orchestra, in customary style, will invite the audience at the end to join in with Jerusalem!

Spotlights on the way are on the orchestra’s wind and string sections respectively playing Gounod’s joyous Petite Symphonie and Holst’s ever popular English folk-inspired St. Paul’s Suite.

Hits: 888